The High Court of Kerala


    The State of Kerala was formed on 01-11-1956 as per the States Reorganisation Act, 1956 by merging the Travancore-Cochin State and the Malabar District of Madras State. Travancore-Cochin State was formed on 01-07-1949 by merging the princely States of Travancore and Cochin. The Malabar District of the Madras State was previously a district of Madras Presidency.

    The State of Travancore had a High Court at Thiruvananthapuram, the State of Cochin had its High Court at Eranakulam and Malabar District was under the jurisdiction of Madras High Court. With the integration of the States of Travancore and Cochin on 01-07-1949, the High Court of Travancore-Cochin was inaugurated with its seat at Ernakulam on 07-07-1949. With the formation of the State of Kerala, the High Court of Kerala was established on 01-11-1956 with its seat at Ernakulam. It was inaugurated on 05-11-1956. Its territorial jurisdiction extends to the entire State of Kerala and the Union Territory of Lakshadweep. The Kerala High Court has made unique contribution to the history of courts in India through two of its Judges – Justice Anna Chandy was the first woman High Court Judge in India. Justice M. Fathima Beevi was the first woman Judge of the Supreme Court of India.


    Hon’ble the Chief Justice
    Ashish Jitendra Desai

    The High Court comprises of a Chief Justice and such other Judges as the President may, from time to time, appoint. At present, the sanctioned Judge strength of the High Court of Kerala is 35 Permanent Judges including the Chief Justice and 12 Additional Judges.